Hirustica

Hirustica

Le site des musiciens voyageurs
Jean-Luc Thomas & Gaby Kerdoncuff

MAGIC FLUTES

Distribution

Jean-Luc Thomas – wooden flute, loop
Ravichandra Kulur – Bansuri flute

Guests
Camilo Menjura – guitar
Prabhu Edouard – percussion

Always in search of new artistic horizons, the two internationally recognized musicians Ravichandra Kulur and Jean-Luc Thomas met for the first time at the “TFE Festival of Rudolstadt” for the Magic Flute concert creation.
« Immediately we felt the complicity and friendship and at that time we had to start working »
The stage is ready for a meeting around magical improvisations. They gave concerts and recorded in Bengalore in February 2014, then with Camilo Menjura (guitar) and Prahbu Edouard (percussion) in France for the album.

Artists

Jean-Luc Thomas is a master flautist. He was one of the first to integrate this instrument into the fest-noz in Brittany. Through his many travels and meetings, he has developed a very particular protean style. Today he evolves through enriching musical experiences with traditional, classical or jazz musicians from all over the world …

Ravichandra Kulur was initiated into the heart of the enchanted kingdom of classical Carnatic music and gave his first concerts at the age of 9. His powerful breath, the clarity of every note and his solid technique have been widely recognized by critics and music lovers alike. Ravichandra is one of the most demanded flautists in India.

Camilo Menjura is a Colombian guitarist living in London for ten years. His guitar playing is heavily imbued with the sound of Latin American folk. His distinctive percussive style is a synthesis of the richness and the various rhythms found in the South American musical landscape.

Prabhu Edouard is a Franco-Indian percussionist and composer. One of the most eclectic tabla players of his generation, this distinguished disciple of the famous maestro Shankar Ghosh has accompanied the great names of Indian music (Hariprasad Chaurasia, Laxmi Shankar, VGJog, Ashish Khan, TVGopalakrishnan, T. Vishwanathan, Shashank , Rohini Bhate, Rajendra Gangani, Astad Debu). Nomadic musician and passionate experimenter, he has also collaborated with personalities such as Jordi Savall, Nguyen Lê, Joachim Kühn, Magic Malik, Moriba Ko • ta, Saïd Shraïbi, Kudsi Erguner, Jamchid Chemirani, J.P. Drouet, …
“KÔLAM”, his first album as a leader, gives voice to his innovative and contemporary vision of Indian music.
Prabhu is also an experienced teacher who is dedicated to the transmission of his art during seminars and international masterclasses.

Listen

Watch

Technical information

Set duration: 1h15
Audience capacity: unlimited
Configurations: Possibility of inviting indian musicians (Udupa – Gatham, Mutu Kumar – Tablas, Swam Selvaganesh – Kanjira)
Possibility of organizing workshops or masterclasses with musicians about improvisation and Carnatic music.
Contact us

Lettre d’information

Social

Hirustica

Hirustica

Le label des musiciens voyageurs
Jean-Luc Thomas & Gaby Kerdoncuff

Thomas / Kulur

Distribution

Jean-Luc Thomas – flûte en bois, loop
Ravichandra Kulur – flûte Bansuri

invités
Camilo Menjura – guitare
Prabhu Edouard – percussions

Toujours en recherche de nouveaux horizons artistiques, les deux musiciens internationalement reconnus Ravichandra Kulur et Jean-Luc Thomas se sont rencontrés pour la première fois au « TFE Festival of Rudolstadt » pour le Magic Flute concert creation :
« Immédiatement nous avons ressenti la complicité et l’amitié et il nous fallait à ce moment là commencer à travailler »
La scène est prête pour une rencontre autours d’improvisations magiques. Ils ont donné des concerts et enregistré à Bengalore en février 2014, puis avec Camilo Menjura (guitare) et Prahbu Edouard (percussions) en France pour l’album.

Artistes

Jean-Luc Thomas est maître flûtiste, il fit partie des premiers à intégrer cet instrument dans les fest-noz en Bretagne. Par ses nombreux voyages, ses rencontres, il a développé un style protéiforme tout particulier. Il évolue aujourd’hui à travers d’enrichissantes expériences musicales avec des musiciens traditionnels, classiques ou jazz du monde entier…

Ravichandra Kulur  a été initié au cœur du royaume enchanté de la musique classique carnatique, et a donné ses premiers concerts à 9 ans. Son souffle puissant, la clarté de chaque note, sa solide technique ont été largement reconnus des critiques et des amateurs de musique, ainsi Ravichandra est l’un des flûtistes les plus demandés en Inde.

Camilo Menjura, guitariste colombien installé à Londres depuis une dizaine d’années, a un jeu de guitare fortement imprégné du son folk latino américain : son style percussif distinctif est une synthèse des richesses et des divers rythmes que l’on trouve dans le paysage musical sud-américain.

Prabhu Edouard, percussionniste et compositeur franco-indien, Un des joueurs de tabla les plus éclectiques de sa génération, ce disciple émérite du célèbre maestro Shankar Ghosh a accompagné les grands noms de la musique indienne dont Hariprasad Chaurasia, Laxmi Shankar,V.G.Jog, Ashish Khan, T.V.Gopalakrishnan,T.Vishwanathan, Shashank, Rohini Bhate, Rajendra Gangani, Astad Debu… Musicien nomade et expérimentateur passionné il a collaboré avec les personnalités telles que Jordi Savall, Nguyen Lê, Joachim Kühn, Magic Malik, Moriba Ko•ta, Saïd Shraïbi, Kudsi Erguner, Jamchid Chemirani, J.P.Drouet…
Son premier album en tant que leader «KÔLAM» donne à entendre sa vision innovante et contemporaine de la musique indienne.
Concertiste réputé, Prabhu est aussi un pédagogue expérimenté qui se consacre à la transmission de son art au cours de séminaires et master-classes internationaux..

Écouter

Voir

Infos techniques

durée du set : 1h15
jauge max : pas limitée
configurations possibles : invitation complémentaire à des musiciens Indiens,
(Udupa – Gatham, Mutu Kumar – Tablas, Swam Selvaganesh – Kanjira)
Possibilité d’organiser atelier ou masterclasse avec les musiciens autour de la musique Carnatique et l’improvisation.
Nous contacter

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Social